Philadelphia Burning (My First Alternate History)

(Hello everyone! So, I have no idea if this goes here, or in the place more for stories, or in the Alien Space Bats sub-forum. This is my first attempt at a formal alternate history story/timeline, and I'm not sure how well this stands up to the scrutiny of the community. I've seen and participated in other discussions of alternate history in other parts of the internet, but this is the first time I've tried to write my own, originalish scenario. If this belongs someplace else, I will ask for it to be moved promptly. Any and all feedback is absolutely welcome!)

Introduction
Philadelphia Burning

"No great man lives in vain."
- Anonymous*
It was an open secret that the Constitutional Convention that took place in Philadelphia in May and June of 1787 was an effort to totally remake the Articles of Confederation, not merely "revise them" as some had discussed. This was made abundantly clear after James Madison and the other members of the Virginia Delegation arrived early and prepared their own plan to create a new constitution for the United States of America. This move, however, did not come as a surprise to the delegates in Philadelphia; after all, had not the Annapolis Convention a year before called for a larger-scale constitutional convention?